Repository

By

November 26, 2008

 
 


A complete source and version tracking system is provided with Open Web Studio. Whenever a version has been Published to the server, a duplicate of that current version is retained in the database to allow for quick repair whenever a problem is identified which can be easily corrected with a previous backup version.

To access the Repository, first Open a configuration. The repository is tracked on a per configuration basis. Once a configuration is open, click the Tools tab, followed by the View button on the Repository Ribbon group.

Each column within the Repository List can be sorted to provide a quick way to locate the configurations. The primary colums are Date, Comment and Length. Date and Length are used to identify When a changed occurred and how much of a change was made to the configuration, while the Comment use used to track the Labeled versions.

Additionally, the record identifies the name of the user that created or update the configuration. It is recommended that each user in the system be given their own account. This eliminates the stress of determining which developer is working on each physical area of the site, and how many changes they have made.

You may perform seven functions with the Repository:

View

By pressing View the user will be given the lists seen above. View is essentially the starting point of the Repository list module.

Label

Labeling specific versions within your version history is an important step to keep you changes identifiable. This is necessary for times when a recovery is necessary. To  provide a label simply click on the row to be labeled, then click the label button.

Fill in the provided prompt with the name of the Label to use.

Clear and Delete

Clear and Delete provide similar capabilites. Delete removes the currently selected item from the history, which Clear removes ALL items from the history for the current configuration.

Revert and Rollback

When the request is made to recover an older version of the configuration, you have two choices. You can either remove all the history of changes that have happened since the version you want to restore OR you can simply copy the version as it stood at the time that you need to recover, adding it as a new record as the current point in history (therefore leaving the entire history intact). Rollback will remove the history, while Revert will simply recover that version.

Keep in mind that the database will continue to grow as all changes are made. At specific milestones it is advised that the repository be truncated to reduce overhead.

Average (1 Ratings):
 
Want to help out?
 
 

New York, NY • Baltimore, MD • Vienna, VA • St. Louis, MO • Seattle, WA • info@openwebstudio.com

Bookmark & Share Bookmark and Share